Pop Will Eat Itself - Mar 29 - The Zoo

In 1987, Pop Will Eat Itself surprised the independent music world by morphing overnight from two minute, three chord indie pop wonders into hip-hop rock crossover pioneers. Years ahead of their time, PWEI produced "Box Frenzy", a furious mix of beatboxes, metal riffs, MC'ing and pop songs. Featuring the notorious "Beaver Patrol" single, and the hugely successful "There Is No Love Between Us Anymore", the album brought the band a whole new audience and opened them up to as much praise as it did ridicule amongst a perplexed music press.

This unique band, whose influence touched the careers of acts such as The Prodigy and Nine Inch Nails, still has a large, strong following worldwide, and there is an active online community who have shown great interest in these titles thus far.

In July 2011, a new line-up was announced, featuring Graham Crabb (as the only original member), fellow vocalist Mary Byker (Gaye Bykers On Acid, Apollo 440, Pigface), guitarist Tim Muddiman (Gary Numan), drummer Jason Bowld (Pitchshifter, Killing Joke) and bassist Davey Bennett (This Burning Age). In October that year the album, New Noise Designed By A Sadist, was released on Cooking Vinyl, produced by Monti & Rob Holliday (Sulpher, Prodigy) and was followed by a UK tour. The band further toured in March and December 2012. The single 'Disguise' was featured as Radio 6 Breakfast Show 'Single of the Week' and an instrumental 'Back To Business' was used on Top Gear. Crabb & Byker also guested on Soccer AM. In December 2013 PWEI toured the UK as part of a triple bill with The Wonder Stuff and Jesus Jones. The Watch The Bitch Blow EP was released in March 2014 as part of a PledgeMusic.com campaign. An unofficial World Cup single followed in May, featuring Brazilian rapper BNegao (Planet Hemp). A brand new album 'Anti Nasty League' surfaced in 2015. This was an underground 'fan-release' only available from the band's online shop.

In 2018 after a couple of guest appearances, original members Richard March, Adam Mole & Fuzz Townshend are all back playing with the band.

Crabbi & Mary Byker (vocals), Richard March (Guitar), Adam Mole (keyboards), Davey Bennett (Bass), Fuzz Townshend (Drums)

Show Date: Mar 29, 2020